Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Chantelle tutors in Toronto, Canada

Chantelle V.

Private tutor in Toronto, Canada

Education

-Graduated high school with a 95% average -Commerce major at the University of Toronto St. George (Rotman Commerce)

Experience

-I tutored grades 1-11 math for 3 years -I tutored students in reading and writing for 3 years (grades 1-12) -I was the Editor-In-Chief for my school's newspaper for 1 year, a writer for 4 years, and an editor for 2 years. -During my time as the Editor-In-Chief of my school's newspaper, my newspaper was awarded 13 awards at the Toronto Star Awards including the award for best newspaper in Ontario. Personally, I won an award for my article entitled "To Sell Tests or Not to Sell" which followed the unfortunate consequences of students selling past tests to other students. That year, I was also interviewed for the Toronto Star about my work as an Editor-In-Chief and for my investigative article about the prevalence of Fake I.D's among high school students. The fake I.D. shop that I investigated was shut down after my article was published. I am currently a writer for The Varsity, The University of Toronto's newspaper, which is the best university newspaper in Canada. - I was a PAL (Peer Assistance Leader) for 3 years and mentored/supported Grade 9's who had a hard time transitioning from middle school to high school. It was a great role; I loved to see the Grade 9's slowly build their confidence and it made me happy to know that I helped them do that. - I competed in DECA, a business competition, for two years. I qualified to Provincials both times. - I was a Youth Educator/Volunteer at Epilepsy Toronto for 1 year. I was trained on the topic of Epilepsy and implemented the knowledge learned into coaching others, and educated children on the topic of Epilepsy. - I was a volunteer at the Anne Johnston Health Station for 1 year. I established expertise on health literacy, advertised the health station, developed skills on healthy eating, and taught a group of youths about health literacy and mental health. -I opened up my own networking event company with my mom last year. We hire recruiters for the events to help the attendees find jobs in their desired fields. We also have motivational speakers to inspire the attendees. I am responsible for the sales and operations of the company as well as presenting at and hosting every event. I am also accountable for the marketing, the website, and the advertising along with running the networking events. I attend all business meetings and recruit for recruiters and sponsors. This isn't a full-time job since we only hold networking events twice a year. - I was born and raised in Toronto, Canada and have spoken English my whole life. I am also fluent in Romanian and French. - I created a plan for an all-inclusive playground for Deer Park Public School and pitched it to the Toronto District School Board. The playground has been constructed since then. - I finished high school calculus with a 97%, english with a 95%, advanced functions with a 95%, accounting with a 93%, business with a 94%, and French with a 93%.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I completely understand how hard it is to find the right tutor. Only a few years ago I was on this site trying to find a tutor for myself. Some would charge an insane amount of money, others weren't approachable, and for the most part, I couldn't connect with them. I was inspired by this experience to become a tutor myself and to charge a reasonable amount. Everyone deserves to have a chance to further grasp the material given at school and to be tutored regardless of how much money their family makes. I also try my best to be as approachable as possible and to never intimidate or make any student feel worthless. I would never judge a student and I want them to feel comfortable enough to ask me any questions they have. I am happy to help any student no matter what the subject is and how difficult or easy it may be. Anyways, that was a short preface to the "personality paragraph." It's hard to write a paragraph illustrating all of my hobbies and interests since I have SO many but I'll try my best to do so in a short list. Here are some of the things that I love to do: - Reading - Writing - Tutoring (Of course) - Dancing - Singing - Playing Tennis - Listening to music - Playing the piano - Collecting records for my record player - Drawing - Spending time with my friends and family - Travelling - Studying and Learning - Networking - Helping others - Volunteering - Babysitting (I love spending time with children; they are so pure and innocent. They always teach me so much and help me become a better person) I could probably continue listing all of my hobbies/interests, however, that list would be too long. I hope that you'll consider me!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!