Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Matthew tutors in Toronto, Canada

Matthew B.

Private tutor in Toronto, Canada

Education

Honours B.A. with High Distinction (3.98 CGPA) from the University of Toronto (June 2018). Specialist degree in Philosophy, with nearly a minor’s worth each of French literature and Ancient Greek language courses. I completed the International Baccalaureate (entirely in French, with the exception of English literature courses) with 7/7 in HL French, 7/7 HL English, 6/7 in HL History, and an A (the highest grade) for my Extended Essay on Aeschylus' Oresteia.

Experience

I have three years' tutoring experience. I was a TA for University of Toronto's first-year philosophy course (as an upper-year undergraduate). I have taken three philosophy graduate courses as part of my undergraduate degree. Among the awards I have received are: The St. Michael's College Gold Medal in Arts (awarded to the graduating student with the highest CGPA in a humanities or social sciences degree). A nomination for the Governor General's Silver Medal for the University of Toronto's 2018 graduating class. The George Kennedy Scholarship in Philosophy (2018), awarded to an outstanding graduating student whose program included at least three full-course equivalents in Philosophy. The Lawrence E. Lynch In-Course Scholarship in Philosophy (twice: in 2015 and 2017). The Ambassador of Switzerland Prize in French (2017), awarded to an outstanding student in the department of French. An honourable mention for the Junior Ancient Greek sight translation competition, hosted by the Classical Association of Canada (2015). I was also awarded a DAAD scholarship to study German for a summer (2016) at the Freie Universität in Berlin at the B2/C1 level. Excepting this summer course, I am entirely self-taught in German, and had never attended a single German class before I obtained this scholarship. I grew up in a bilingual household, with a Francophone mother and an Anglophone father (I like to say: French is my mother tongue, English my father tongue). I have been speaking both French and English since I could speak at all. I attended all-French schools from kindergarten to grade 12. I am capable of tutoring any of the subjects below in either English or French.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

My main hobbies and interests include: reading, especially literature, and especially slowly and aloud; long walks in ravines; long conversations with friends. Some of my past work and volunteering experience (excluding tutoring or teaching) includes: Two summers' volunteering at a seniors' home. Part-time student assistant at E.J. Pratt Library (at the University of Toronto) for 4 years. Two summers as a counsellor for New College's International English Programs, for international youth aged 12-18. Volunteer soccer coaching with youth from Regent Park aged 12-14, summer 2018. Volunteering on a farm in Keene, Ontario, as part of the WWOOFing program, for six weeks in the winter of 2019.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!