Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Monika tutors in Toronto, Canada

Monika M.

Private tutor in Toronto, Canada

Education

TESL Teaching Diploma (Pass with Distinction) - Canadian Centre for Language and Cultural Studies (TESL Canada Accredited) - February 2018 Bachelor of Arts in Psychology (Dean's Honour Roll) - University of Windsor - 2011

Experience

I'm a qualified and experienced ESL teacher and tutor and TESL Canada member. I have one year of ESL classroom teaching experience, and 2.5 years of online tutoring experience. As an ESL classroom teacher and online tutor, I have worked with children aged 3 to 13, young adults aged 14 - 19, and adults (19+). I am comfortable tutoring students in any age range. I have experience teaching ESL test prep including TOEFL and Cambridge Exams. I'm also an experienced copyeditor, with a particular focus on editing all sorts of writing by English language learners. My aim with this is not only to correct students' writing, but to discover common areas in which mistakes are made and to teach students to avoid making these mistakes in the future.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekdays in the morning, Weekdays in the evening

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love music - I play the piano and sing, and spend most of my downtime writing or recording songs. I also love to travel and experience new cultures and sights. I'm working on my cooking skills, and I love reading - especially autobiographies and memoirs, as I love to look at life through perspectives other than my own. I can be quite nerdy about a variety of topics (especially language) and can get in long discussions about music, movies, technology, books, video games... I love getting to know my students and injecting material that's relevant to their interests in my tutoring sessions whenever possible! I love to tutor because in a one-on-one session, I'm able to discover a student's individual needs and cater a learning plan just for them. My knowledge of academic English, writing, and grammar is extremely strong; I spent six months teaching an elective grammar class at a local language school. I also love to teach communicative and real-world language, providing speaking practice for my students, and using real reading and listening materials to aid in my students' learning. As much as I enjoy classroom teaching, my favourite way to teach is in a one-on-one or small group setting where I can give each student the attention they deserve! I offer very reasonable rates, as I'm looking to build my tutoring practice. Contact me to find out more about my in-person (I will travel to you) and online sessions!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!