Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Laura tutors in Toronto, Canada

Laura S.

Private tutor in Toronto, Canada

5Laura S.

1 review

Education

~ PLEASE NOTE I AM ONLY TAKING STUDENTS STARTING IN LATE AUGUST. ~ Graduate Diploma in Teaching (Secondary) December 2009 University of Auckland, Auckland, NZ • Focus in General Science and Chemistry • Awards: Summer Research Scholarship (2009) Chaco Educator Institute in Archeo-Astronomy, June 2008 NASA/ Adams State College, Alamosa, CO Associate Degree in General Science, December 2008 Santa Fe Community College, Sante Fe, NM ITTT TEFL Certification, April 2007 International TEFL Teaching Training, Phuket, Thailand (completed online) Bachelor of Arts in Religion and Five-College Certificate in International Relations, May 2006 Smith College, Northampton, MA Awards: Tuition Exchange Scholar (2002-2006); STRIDE Honors Scholar (2002-2006); Dean’s List (2003-2006); International Study Scholarship (2005; 2006)

Experience

Ontario College of Teachers Certified Teacher 10 years teaching experience International and Local Teaching Experience All students will receive: - individualized notes - programs adapted to their needs - extra resources to study and use - question & answers service for quick inquiries My Experience: - Over 10 years teaching and tutoring - Taught all levels and abilities, including ADHD, Remedial Skills, Gifted & Talented - Taught students ranging from 10 to 60 - Taught in 5 different countries including Canada, USA, South Korea, New Zealand, and India ---RESUME--- Tutoring: Primary, Middle School, & High School Tutor & Teacher, Grade Learning Centre, Toronto, 2013-2014  Teach students ranging from eight to seventeen certified OSSD cerdite courses in areas including ENG4U, MCT4U, MCR4U, ENG3U, SCH3U, and other subject matter  Tutor testing skills needed for the SSAT, SAT, ACT, GED, and GRE  Tutor organizational and learning skills needed to succeed in a testing and/or classroom environment  Knowledge of the Ontario curriculum from Grade 4 to Grade 12 Freelance Tutor, Toronto, New Zealand, USA & South Korea, 2006-current  Tutor students aged from ten to adult various countries  Taught chemistry, general science, mathematics, algebra, geometry, functions, calculus, statistics, English, writing, music, and violin  Quickly adapt to needs of students dependant on age, culture, and personality Teaching: Specialist Mathematics Mentor for Native Boys, Waitakere College, Auckland, New Zealand (2012-current)  Initiated framework for mathematics specialist mentor program for native New Zealand boys  Mentored twelve fourteen year old Maori boys in mathematics subject content and the wider-world application of mathematics  Created individual learning programs for each boy based on prior knowledge and testing Mathematics Teacher, Waitakere College, Auckland, New Zealand (2010-current)  Used a variety of integrated, kinaesthetic activities to teach mathematics to 14-18 year old students in classes up to 35 children.  Participated in teaching in special programs such as the Service Academy (ROTC), Gifted & Talented, and ESOL mathematics  Participated in the wider community through creating the jewellery making group, helping in Art & Culture Week, supplying information about the mathematics curriculum at Maori Family Information Meetings, Parent-Teacher evenings, and mentoring students at the tuition center and in homegroup  Initiated the school’s involvement in Auckland Mathematical Association’s Mathex Competition, a mathletics competition between all the schools in the greater Auckland area Pre-Service Teacher, St. Dominic’s College and Massey High School, Auckland, New Zealand (2009)  Observed instructional methods, classroom discipline procedures, and teaching styles at two distinctly different schools: St. Dominic’s College, and all girl’s school from 12 to 18 years old, and Massey High School, a co-education high school from 14 to 18 years old  Taught lessons in general science and chemistry at each of these schools at all levels 8th Grade Mathematics Teacher, Capshaw Middle School, Santa Fe, NM (October 2007-June 2008)  Taught mathematics and created weekly lesson plans fitting the needs of 14 year old Hispanic, Anglo, and Old Spanish students  Formed an after school mathematics homework group to bolster student achievement  Met and corresponded with parents and other teachers weekly concerning various students’ work habits, overall behaviour, and quality of work on a daily basis  Took concurrent courses on teaching, general science, and drug addition in families at night school Head iBT-Training Foreign Teacher, Avalon Instructional Institute, Bucheon, South Korea (March 2007-July 2007)  Educated students from 6-17 years old in English as a Foreign Lanaguage. Structured the Foreign Teacher Advanced TEFL curriculum including lesson plans and iBT TOEFL test preparation activities  Collaborated with South Korean teacher counterparts over improving students learning and communication to the students’ parents ESL Teacher, Reading Town English Institute, Bucheon, South Korea (June 2006- February 2007)  Educated students from 7-14 years old in English as a Second Langauge. Organized and created lesson plans for Teaching English as a Second Language (TESL) from beginning levels to advanced  Given written communication to parents about the progress of their children on a monthly basis Intern, Little Stars School Hindi-English Medium School, Varanasi, India (Summer 2005/Winter 2006)  Educated students from 5-14 years old in Art and English  Mentored children in language and life situations outside of class. Functioned as cultural ambassador to both children and teachers  Recruited a donation from Volunteers in Service for Education in India for the improvement of the school building and library Taken and scored well on SAT, ACT, and GRE SAT: 1400 ACT: 30 GRE: 1350

Availability

Weekdays in the morning, Weekdays in the evening

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away at my regular hourly rate, Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I am dynamic, passionate teacher who has lived and taught in over 5 countries. In the last three years, I have grown my art jewelry business online and off. (If you are curious to see it, please visit www.designsbynaturegems.com) I also have a history of learning different languages and learning the violin, piano, and sarangi. General Interests: Music, Movies, and Books Book currently: Alif the Unseen by G. Williow (This changes normally- like reading a lot.) Movies: Generally like dramas, thinking comedies, and children's movies. No favorite at the moment. Music: No favorite- just loves lots What I Believe In: Teach, Learn, Share Countries I’ve Lived In: Canada, India, New Zealand, South Korea, United States

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!