Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Vijay Shankar tutors in Toronto, Canada

Vijay Shankar V.

Private tutor in Toronto, Canada


PhD in Physics, University of Toronto 2016 GRE Physics Subject Test 990/990 (97th Percentile) GRE General: 1450/1600 Quantitative: 800/800 Verbal : 650/800 B.Tech Engineering Physics, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India


I have been structuring and delivering tutorial sessions for several undergraduate courses over the past several years (2009-present) including first year physics for students in physics, engineering, and life sciences programs. I love explaining science and mathematics concepts and have been involved with the physics department's outreach programs for the public as well as volunteering at the math enrichment program math circles for middle school students. I continue to be involved with several hands-on science and technology education organizations in Toronto. I am passionate about science and mathematics education and believe that with the right amount of help , anyone can master the concepts underlying these subjects. At its best, the study of the patterns underlying natural phenomena is like solving a puzzle and I hope to convey my enthusiasm for this process. I believe that the foremost quality a tutor needs to possess is the patience to listen and understand a topic from the student's perspective before proceeding to explain the concepts. I can help students understand the concepts, develop a learner's mindset, and prepare for tests and exams. I charge 60$/hr - 80$/hr depending on the subject and the amount of preparation needed. Please contact me only if you are okay with this rate.


Weekends in the morning, Weekends in the afternoon, Weekdays after 6PM

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee


I currently work as a data scientist in the technology industry and am excited by the potential for machine learning and more broadly, software to revolutionize the way we live. Outside of work, I am into reading, biking, yoga, and playing around with technology. Interesting fact: I built my bike with mostly used parts at Bike Pirates, a DIY Bike shop in Toronto.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!