Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Rachel tutors in Toronto, Canada

Rachel P.

Private tutor in Toronto, Canada

Education

MA in Child Study and Education from Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE) at University of Toronto (2016) BSc in Mathematics, with minors in Art History and Psychology from University of Toronto (2013) Special Education part 1 Additional Qualification through OISE (2016)

Experience

A teacher and tutor at heart, I've been helping students with math and science since high school. I currently teach middle and high school math and science at a small private school in Toronto. While working towards my Master of Arts, I tutored students from grades 8-11 helping them gain confidence in their mathematical abilities and problem solving skills. I have experience tutoring science up to grade 10 as well. I have also taught high school level math courses to individual students who find a full class to be a struggle, as well as students who had a variety of learning struggles outside of the classroom such as ADHD and anxiety. During my MA program I gained experience working with students with learning disabilities in a classroom environment, teaching them language, math skills, and science concepts. I have the patience and strategies required to help younger students with various learning disabilities succeed in any subject, especially math and literacy. I've also spent the past 5 years as an Instructor, Team Leader, and Advisor for various STEM programs at the University of Toronto's Engineering Outreach Office. Here I delivered science and engineering based workshops for students in grades 3-12. I also have put together STEM-based leadership programming for high school students. My ultimate goal as a teacher or tutor is to give student the skills and confidence they need to be successful, whether this means helping a grade 4 student who is struggling with reading or changing the mindset of a grade 11 student who has decided that math is just not for them. In my career in general, I am especially passionate about making STEM subjects more accessible to groups of students who are still underrepresented in these fields, especially young females. I want students to see how these subjects directly effect their lives and how there is a place for them in the field of their choosing, even if they sometimes find it a struggle.

Availability

Monday after 5PM, Wednesday in the afternoon, Wednesday in the morning, Friday in the afternoon

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Aside from math and science, I am very interested in music. I played piano for 10 years, completing my Grade 10 through the RCM. I still enjoy listening to a variety of genres and going to live shows and concerts. I am also very interested in food and cooking. When I have time I also enjoy rock climbing.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!