Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Martha tutors in Toronto, Canada

Martha A.

Private tutor in Toronto, Canada

Education

University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC Bachelor of Arts, Honours, German Literature, Language, and Culture (2014) • UBC President’s Entrance Scholarship • MacInnes - Hallamore Scholarship • ARCAAP Award • UBC Go Global Group Study Programs Award • UBC Go Global International Learning Programs Award Full-Year Exchange at the University of Bonn (2012-2013) Summer Exchange at the Free University of Berlin (April-June 2012)

Experience

Mentor and English Tutor - UBC Aboriginal Emerging Scholars Summer Camp, Vancouver July – August 2011 Homework Tutor - Jericho Garrison Homework Club, Vancouver 2009 - 2010 AP English Language: 5 AP English Literature: 5 AP European History: 5 AP Psychology: 4 I see tutoring as a way of helping students achieve their full potential. I myself have benefited from having tutors in the past, and would like to pass on the same kind of help and reassurance I had to other people who might be struggling or needing help. I believe in creating a relaxed and supportive environment for students to learn and problem-solve in, and I enjoy seeing when students have that "ah ha!" moment of understanding. I have a lot of experience tutoring elementary and middle school children in all subjects, and also mentoring high school students in English writing and literature.

Availability

Weekdays after 5PM

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

My hobbies include things like painting, drawing, singing, playing guitar, and having a relaxed time with my friends. I enjoy reading books on the environment, conservation, permaculture, art, German literature, and homesteading. I love working with my hands, so any free time I have, you can find me creating jewellery or art work. I also enjoy sailing, canoeing, kayaking, and fishing, and believe that engaging with the outdoors is an essential part of education.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!