Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Brock tutors in Toronto, Canada

Brock S.

Private tutor in Toronto, Canada

Education

Bachelor of Arts (Honours) 2010 – 2015 English and Professional Writing, York University, Toronto, ON Diploma 2006 – 2008 Music Industry Arts, Fanshawe College, London, ON

Experience

Academic Editor, Proofreader, and Tutor 2015 – Present Pekar Editing, Toronto, ON • Proofread documents in diverse academic fields on short notice and with a <6hr turnaround • Provide stylistic suggestions based on target audience and clients’ needs • Ensure projects such as theses or manuscripts for peer-reviewed publications meet necessary requirements and follow appropriate stylistic guidelines (APA, MLA, etc.) • Assist international undergraduate and graduate students with writing and basic English needs • Prepare international students for International English Language Testing System (IELTS) tests • Tutor high school students in a variety of courses, with a focus on improving their written skills • Coach and prepare soon-to-be university graduates for job interviews Research Assistant 2013 – 2015 York University Communications Department, Toronto, ON • Searched through 3 decades of microfilm and online resources for radio-related newspaper articles • Input discovered data into spreadsheets, creating a dense and comprehensive research database • Reviewed previous shift’s work to ensure the project’s monetary allotment was not used on redundant and negligent work • Transcribed archival and present-day interviews, >4000 words/hr • Fact-checked, copy edited, and proofread transcribed interviews, >20 pages/hr Editorial Intern 2014 Where, Toronto, ON • Wrote 2-3 thoroughly researched, lively articles and blurbs per day about local events, restaurants, and galleries • Copy edited articles about local events, restaurants, and galleries, 2500 words/hr • Fact-checked articles for publication via phone calls and Internet-based research, >10 articles/hr • Researched daily, weekly, and monthly events throughout the city for publication • Maintained magazine’s website by posting new articles using WordPress

Availability

Sunday at any time

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I follow current events, from municipal to international. I like to read fiction and nonfiction, not counting the daily journalism I read. I am a big music fan and listen to music from the 1940s to present. I also like to exercise as often as I can, from swimming, to jogging, to stair climbing. Every now and then I play drums if I have access to a kit.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!